Skip to main content

Green coffee classifications
Green coffee is a type of coffee obtained from unroasted beans. Unlike the roasted coffee we are used to consuming, green coffee retains all its properties and health benefits. But did you know that green coffee is also classified into different categories? In this article, I will tell you about the classifications of green coffee and how they influence its quality and taste.

Classification by origin

One of the most common ways to classify green coffee is by geographical origin. Each coffee-producing region has unique characteristics that influence the taste and aroma of the beans. Some of the most recognised origins are:

  • Arabica: known for its mild and aromatic taste, is mainly grown in Latin America and Africa.
  • Robust: has a stronger and more bitter taste and is grown mainly in Africa and Asia.
  • Liberica: less common, it is grown mainly in the Philippines and has a more acidic and astringent taste.

2. Classification by size and shape

Green coffee beans are also classified by their size and shape. This can influence the quality of the coffee and its roasting process. Some of the most common classifications are:

  • AAA: the larger and more uniformly shaped grains.
  •  AA: large and uniform grains, but slightly smaller than AAA.
  •  A: medium-sized and more irregularly shaped grains.
  • B: small and irregularly shaped grains

3. Classification by quality

The quality of green coffee is also classified according to its state and level of maturity. Some of the most common classifications are:

  • Prime Washed: high quality grains, washed and sun-dried.
  • Washed: washed grains but not as selected as Prime Washed.
  • Natural: unwashed sun-dried grains.
  • Pulped Natural: grains that undergo a fermentation process and are then dried in the sun.

4. Classification by degree of roasting

Although green coffee has not been roasted, it can also be classified according to the degree of roasting it will undergo. Some of the most common classifications are:

  • Light roast: light roasting, which preserves more of the original flavours and aromas of green coffee.
  • Medium roast: medium roasting, which balances the original flavours and aromas with those derived from roasting.
  • Dark roast: dark toast, which brings out the flavours and aromas derived from the toast.
    In summary, green coffee is classified by geographical origin, bean size and shape, quality and degree of roasting. These classifications help us to understand the characteristics and properties of each type of green coffee, and to choose the one that best suits our tastes and preferences. Remember that green coffee is an excellent option for enjoying all the goodness of coffee without losing its health benefits.

Leave a Reply

Need help?